Page updates automatically every minute

Malaysian GP - Warmup Session

Final Order: Ricardo Zonta ahead of Mika Hakkinen and Michael Schumacher. David Coulthard, Alexander Wurz and  Rubens Barrichello make the top 6.

30 min: Michael Schumacher improves but remains in 3rd.

29 min: Ricardo Zonta goes fastest with a time of 1:40.032! while Wurz moves into 4th!

28 min: Mika Hakkinen goes fastest with a time of 1:40.080 almost half a second faster than Michael. Villeneuve is in 4th.

27 min: Jarno Trulli improves to 11th

26 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, Barrichello, Herbert, Hakkinen, Coulthard, Zonta, Irvine, Wurz, Salo and Villeneuve.

26 min: Herbert moves into 3rd!

25 min: Jarno Trulli appears to be struggling in 20th! while Mika Salo has moved up to 8th.

24 min: Michael Schumacher improves in 1st with a time of 1:40.553. Over half a second faster than anyone so far.

22 min: Eddie Irvine moves into 5th place but Zonta takes it soon after.

21 min: Pedro de la Rosa moves into 6th place. Ralf Schumacher and Jenson Button are back in 18th and 19th!

20 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, Barrichello, Hakkinen, Coulthard, Villeneuve, Zonta, Wurz, Alesi, Herbert and Diniz.

19 min: Jacques Villeneuve is in 5th behind Ferrari and McLaren.

18 min: Rubens Barrichello moves into 2nd place.

17 min: Mika Hakkinen and Rubens Barrichello move into 2nd and 4th respectively.

15 min: Top 6 - M Schumacher, Coulthard, Wurz, Alesi, Herbert and Villeneuve.

14 min: Michael Schumacher goes fastest with a time of 1:41.154.

13 min: Jean Alesi is in 2nd!.

12 min: David Coulthard goes fastest with Wurz in second. Irvine goes off into the gravel but recovers.

11 min: Verstappen goes fastest with a time of 1:42.717 with Villeneuve going second.

10 min: Top 6 - de la Rosa, Verstappen, Villeneuve, R Schumacher, Trulli, Mazzacane.

9 min: Pedro de la Rosa goes fastest with a time of 1:43.136.

8 min: Ralf Schumacher sets a time of 1:45.681 and takes first place.

6 min: Marc Gene suffers and engine failure and parks his car on the side of the track. Several drivers start their flying laps.

6 min: Johnny Herbert is the first to set a timed lap with a time of 1:49.876. That is over 10 seconds slower than pole time!

4 min: Both Frentzen and Barrichello finally go out on the track.

3 min: Both Michael Schumacher and Mika Hakkinen switch to their spare cars. No timed laps yet.

2 min: Only Frentzen and Barrichello have not gone out yet.

1 min: All the cars stream out for their installation lap. Those with spare cars will go back and test them as well.

Session underway with cloudy but dry conditions. Temperature is 29 degrees.