Fastest lap for 1st Friday Practice in 2000 - Michael Schumacher - 1:40.290 

Malaysian GP - 1st Friday Practice Session

60 min: Session ends. Trulli moves into 3rd, Frentzen improves to 6th. Top 10: R Barrichello, M Schumacher, J Trulli, D Coulthard, E Irvine, H Frentzen, M Hakkinen, O Panis, L Burti, N Heidfeld.

59 min: A minute to go and times are not expected to improve due to yellow flags for Irvine's car although Panis moves into 6th ahead of both Jordan's

58 min: Irvine stops with a problem after setting the 4th fastest time. Yellow flags.

57 min: Irvine moves into 4th with a time of 1:41.000!

56 min: Rubens Barrichello goes sub 1:40 with a time of 1:39.502. Stunning!

55 min: Top 10: M Schumacher, D Coulthard, R Barrichello, M Hakkinen, J Trulli, H Frentzen, O Panis, N Heidfeld, E Irvine, J Villeneuve.

55 min: David Coulthard splits the 2 Ferrari's with a time of 1:40.490.

54 min: Mika Hakkinen moves into 3rd under a second off the pace. (1:41.008)

53 min: Giancarlo Fisichella finally manages to set a time. He is 16th. Button, Montoya and Alonso have yet to set competitive times.

52 min: Michael Schumacher improves again with a time of 1:40.123. He is now over a tenth faster than last year. Nick Heidfeld moves into 6th.

51 min: Eddie Irvine is the fastest of the Michelin runners in 6th. Ralf Schumacher is next in 9th.

50 min: Top 10: M Schumacher, R Barrichello, J Trulli, D Coulthard, O Panis, E Irvine, J Villeneuve, N Heidfeld, R Schumacher, H Frentzen.

47 min: Michael Schumacher improves his time and is now under a tenth slower than the best time of the first session last year. Villeneuve improves to 7th.

45 min: Jacques Villeneuve improves into 9th. Just over 2 seconds off the pace. 

43 min: There is a huge gap between Coulthard in 4th and Panis in 5th. Over half a second. 

42 min: Not much change in the order. Top 10: M Schumacher, R Barrichello, J Trulli, D Coulthard, O Panis, E Irvine, N Heidfeld, R Schumacher, H Frentzen, K Raikkonen 

41 min: Button sets a time but Montoya is still in the garage. He is losing valuable time especially that he is not familiar with the track. 

40 min: The times so far a still slower than last year.

38 min: Jarno Trulli takes third from Coulthard. He is half a second off the pace of Michael.

37 min: Heinz Harald Frentzen moves into 7th on his first flying lap.

35 min: Top 6: M Schumacher, R Barrichello, D Coulthard, J Trulli, E Irvine, N Heidfeld.

34 min: Barrichello improves his time and is now just 0.1 seconds behind Michael.

33 min: David Coulthard sets the 4th fastest time while Mika Hakkinen is in 7th place.

32 min: 17 drivers have set competitive lap times. Frentzen, Montoya, Button, Fisichella and Alonso have yet to set a time.

31 min: Rubens Barrichello moves into 2nd place but more than half a second slower than Michael.

30 min: Michael Schumacher sets the fastest time slightly slower than the best time set here on the 1st session last year. (1:40.658)

29 min: Michael Schumacher goes out on the track.

28 min: Top 6: J Trulli, E Irvine, O Panis, R Schumacher, J Villeneuve, K Raikkonen.

26 min: Ralf Schumacher returns to the track and sets the 7th fastest time. (1:44.905)

25 min: Jarno Trulli sets the fastest time and the first to go under the 1:42 mark with a time of  1:41.491.

23 min: Interesting that Montoya who is new to this track did not come out following his installation lap. 

22 min: Only 11 drivers have set competitive times so far. Irvine still fastest ahead of Trulli and Panis. 

20 min: Both Arrows fail almost at the same time. Verstappen and Bernoldi park their cars on the track. Session over for both. 

18 min: Eddie Irvine goes fastest with a time of 1:42.205 ahead of O Panis and K Raikkonen. 

17 min: Ralf Schumacher starts a flying lap but aborts and returns to the pits. 

16 min: The drivers who have set times so far are mainly new drivers getting familiar with the track.

15 min: Top 6 : J Verstappen, N Heidfeld, L Burti, K Raikkonen, J Alesi, E Bernoldi.

13 min: Kimi Raikkonen sets the fastest time with a time of 1:46.676 followed by Enrique Bernoldi with a time of 1:46.992.

11 min: Several drivers are out on the track including David Coulthard and Kimi Raikkonen.

9 min: Tarso Marques sets a time of 1:48.873. 

7 min: Tarso Marques in the Minardi returns to the track. We should get a lap time from him shortly. 

5 min: Jenson Button goes out on his installation lap. No timed laps yet. 

3 min: A few cars have not been out yet including Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button. 

2 min: The cars return to the pits following their installation lap. 

0 min: Session starts with Nick Heidfeld the first to leave followed by a number of other cars. 

Pit lane to open in 1 minute. Cars lining up.

Session starting shortly. Rain is expected in the afternoon. Maximum temperature of 32 degrees