Fastest lap at the 2nd Thursday Practice in 2000 - Mika Hakkinen  - 1:21.387

Monaco GP - 2nd Thursday Practice

Session over with Mika Hakkinen fastest ahead of Michael Schumacher and Ralf Schumacher. Rubens Barrichello, Jarno Trulli and David Coulthard make the top 6.

60 min: No improvements in the last minute due to the yellow flags from the Ralf Schumacher accident.

59 min: Eddie Irvine spins and Michael Schumacher behind him just managed to avoid him!

59 min: Ralf Schumacher crashes the second Williams at the entrance to the swimming pool corner. What a nightmare for the mechanics. He is OK.

58 min: David Coulthard improves but remains in 6th place. Jean Alesi moves to 8th!

57 min: All the top 10 drivers are back on the track (except for Montoya who crashed).

56 min: Top 10 - Hakkinen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Barrichello, Trulli, Coulthard, Frentzen, Villeneuve, Montoya and Alesi.

55 min: Michael Schumacher closes the gap again. He is now 0.463 seconds behind Hakkinen.

54 min: Giancarlo Fisichella improves to 11th place.

53 min: David Coulthard and Mika Hakkinen have returned to the pits. Possibly for a final modification before going out for the last time today.

52 min: Michael Schumacher improves again still in 2nd place.

51 min: Michael Schumacher improves but remains in second place 0.823 seconds behind Hakkinen.

50 min: Michael and Ralf go back out.

49 min: Hakkinen sets the fastest first sector time but loses time in the second sector and doesn't improve.

48 min: Hakkinen on another flyer. Coulthard moves into 6th place.

47 min: Coulthard set to improve from 12th place.

46 min: Hakkinen, Frentzen and Irvine follow.

46 min: Session restarted. David Coulthard is the first to go out on the track following the restart.

45 min: Session stopped due to Montoya's crash. Top 10 - Hakkinen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Barrichello, Trulli, Frentzen, Villeneuve, Montoya, Alesi and Irvine.

44 min: Juan Pablo Montoya crashes his car at La Rascasse. Session stopped to clear the track. Montoya is OK.

43 min: Mika Hakkinen and Michael Schumacher go out on the track again!

42 min: Although the mechanics are working on de la Rosa's car, time is running out for him to rejoin the action today!

41 min: Jarno Trulli improves his time but remains in 5th place.

40 min: Giancarlo Fisichella takes 11th place from Coulthard.

39 min: David Coulthard seems to get ready to go out again.

38 min: Top 10 - Hakkinen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Barrichello, Trulli, Frentzen, Villeneuve, Montoya, Alesi and  Irvine.

37 min: Jacques Villeneuve improves to 7th place with a time of 1:22.010.

36 min: Tarso Marques moves into 21st place ahead of Pedro de la Rosa. Marques is 7.132 seconds off the pace!.

35 min: David Coulthard is in 10th place and has not rejoined the track since hitting the barrier slightly.

34 min: Mika Hakkinen goes fastest with a time of 1:19.853!. That is close to the pole time of last year! He is over a second ahead of Michael Schumacher in second place!

33 min: Hakkinen on a flyer!

32 min: 2 seconds separate the top 13 drivers. Mika Hakkinen improves but remains in 5th place.

31 min: Michael Schumacher, Mika Hakkinen and Juan Pablo Montoya go back out on the track.

30 min: Only a handful of cars are on the track at the moment.

29 min: The top 3 are less than 0.1 seconds apart!

28 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Barrichello, Trulli, Hakkinen, Frentzen, Montoya, Alesi, Irvine and Coulthard.

27 min: Ralf Schumacher goes second just 0.054 behind his brother. 

26 min: Ralf Schumacher goes second just 0.054 behind his brother. 

25 min: Eddie Irvine moves into the top 10 with a time of 1:22.302. 

24 min: The 2 Ferraris are the only 2 with times under the 1:21 mark. 

23 min: Jarno Trulli moves into 3rd with a time of 1:21.317. That is 0.433 seconds behind Michael Schumacher. 

22 min: David Coulthard is still in the pits after touching the barrier. He covered 23 laps and is in 9th place.

21 min: Rubens Barrichello on track as well. Michael goes fastest with a time of 1:20.884.

20 min: Michael and Ralf Schumacher are on the track.

19 min: Fernando Alonso appears to have damaged his rear suspension after he hit the barrier.

18 min: The difference in the times is now much smaller with 2 seconds separating the top 13 drivers.

17 min: Luciano Burti has covered 32 laps but remains in 19th place over 3.5 seconds slower than his team-mate Jean Alesi.

16 min: Tarso Marques goes out for the first time this session following his crash in the first session.

15 min: Irvine spins but manages to recover. He is in 14th place.

14 min: Top 10 - Barrichello, Hakkinen, Frentzen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Montoya, Alesi, Trulli, Coulthard and Fisichella.

14 min: Juan Pablo Montoya goes 6th!.

13 min: Fernando Alonso touches the barrier but manages to keep going and pits. This is the second incident involving a Minardi.

12 min: Barrichello improves at the top with a time of 1:20.959. Frentzen goes third with a time of 1:21.505.

11 min: Fisichella improves again, he is now 7th!

10 min: Villeneuve takes 8th place while Barrichello takes the top spot with a time of 1:21.155. Already faster than last year time on Thursday.

9 min: Giancarlo Fisichella moves into 10th place. Impressive for the Benetton.

8 min: Ralf Schumacher moves into 3rd place just behind his brother. Olivier Panis spins but recovers. Lots of action at the start of the second session.

7 min: Mika Hakkinen goes fastest with a time of 1:21.380. His team-mate Coulthard touches the barrier but recovers and pits.

6 min: Ralf Schumacher is the first in the top 10 to improve. He moves to 5th place.

5 min: Almost all the drivers are on the track now. The exceptions are Pedro de la Rosa and Tarso Marques who both crashed their cars in the first session.

4 min: Juan Pablo Montoya and Jenson Button improve their times slightly.

3 min: Giancarlo Fisichella who only managed 6 laps in the first session has already improved his time. He remains in 13th place just behind the Sauber of Nick Heidfeld.

2 min: David Coulthard goes out on the track and so does Jacques Villeneuve who spun late in the first session.

Session underway with Olivier Panis, Jean Alesi and Ralf Schumacher the first to go out on the track.

Michael Schumacher dominated the first session setting a time of 1:21.577. Coulthard was second 0.827 seconds behind with Jarno Trulli in 3rd. Session staring in 2 minutes.

Session starting at 1:00 PM local time. That is 11:00 AM GMT, click here for the local time in Monaco now.
Weather forecast is for partly cloudy skies and a temperature of 24 degrees.