1/18 Ferrari F2004 Michael Schumacher '75 GP Wins' 2004
Ferrari F2004 Michael Schumacher
75 GP Wins 2004


Main European GP Page
NewsOnF1 Home

Fastest lap of the session : Michael Schumacher - 1:30.658 (Modified Track)
Fastest lap of the session in 2001: Michael Schumacher - 1:16.308

European GP - 1st Saturday Practice Session

Final order: Michael Schumacher, Rubens Barrichello, Ralf Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya, Nick Heidfeld and Kimi Raikkonen make the top 6.
Massa, Button, Coulthard, Trulli, Frentzen, Panis, Fisichella, Sato, Bernoldi, Villeneuve, Irvine, McNish, Salo, Webber, Yoong and de la Rosa make the rest of the field.

45 min: Final lap ... Michael Schumacher improves in first ... stunning lap. Frentzen takes 11th from Panis. Villeneuve improves his time but remains in 16th! 

44 min: Nick Heidfeld sets a time of 1:32.758. Good enough for 4th and the 'best of the rest' place! 

43 min: Takuma Sato moves into 14th with a time of 1:34.272 

42 min: Allan McNish moves into 18th from 21st. Panis takes 11th. 

42 min: Rubens Barrichello moves up one place into second with a time of 1:31.598. 

41 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Barrichello, Montoya, Raikkonen, Massa, Button, Coulthard, Heidfeld and Trulli.  

40 min: 5 minutes remaining and Villeneuve spins but recovers.

39 min: At this stage, it looks like Ferrari and Williams will be fighting for the 2 front rows with McLaren, Sauber and Renault fighting for the next 3 rows.

38 min: Enrique Bernoldi moves up into 13th with a time of 1:34.355. Arrows' look to be stronger here than the Jaguars. 

37 min: At the back, it is Yoong with McNish in 21st and Webber in 20th behind Mika Salo. 

36 min: All drivers have set times with the exception of Pedro de la Rosa. 

35 min: Michael Schumacher goes fastest with a time of 1:31.313. He is 0.372 seconds faster than Ralf Schumacher in second. 

34 min: Heidfeld takes 7th from his team-mate while Frentzen takes 10th from Fisichella!. 

33 min: So far only Ralf Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello have gone faster than the best time set yesterday. 

33 min: Fisichella on his first timed lap takes 10th from his team-mate with a 1:34.251 

32 min: Top 10 - R Schumacher, Barrichello, Montoya, Raikkonen, Button, Coulthard, Massa, Trulli, Heidfeld and Sato.  

31 min: Michael Schumacher, Giancarlo Fisichella and Pedro de la Rosa have yet to set a time. 

30 min: David Coulthard moves into 6th behind Button with a time of 1:32.979. 

29 min: Kimi Raikkonen improves and takes 4th back with a 1:32.849.  

28 min: And Trulli moves into 5th between Button and Raikkonen. 

27 min: But Jenson Button takes it away from him with a 1:32.926. 

27 min: Kimi Raikkonen takes 4th with a time of 1:33.352. 

26 min: And Trulli and Button are also on the track. They have yet to set times. 

25 min: Coulthard and Raikkonen are on the track. They have yet to set times.

24 min: Top 10 - R Schumacher, Barrichello, Montoya, Heidfeld, Sato, Bernoldi, Frentzen, Panis, Villeneuve and Irvine.  

23 min: Rubens Barrichello moves into second with a time of 1:31.890.  

22 min: Enrique Bernoldi takes 5th from his team-mate while Panis and Villeneuve are now 7th and 8th. 

21 min: Nick Heidfeld takes 3rd with a time of 1:33.901 while Frentzen goes 5th with a 1:34.576. Barrichello on track. 

21 min: Michael Schumacher spins but recovers. He was fastest at the second sector. 

20 min: Michael Schumacher on track now. It will be interesting to see the time he sets now. 

19 min: Villeneuve goes 9th with a time of 1:36.032. Team-mate Panis on the track. 

18 min: Top 6 - R Schumacher, Montoya, Sato, Irvine, Salo and Webber. 

17 min: Juan Pablo Montoya goes second with a time of 1:32.257. Villeneuve on track. 

16 min: Eddie Irvine goes third with a time of 1:34.969. Montoya starts his flyer. 

15 min: Ralf Schumacher goes fastest with a stunning time of 1:31.685. That is faster than the best time set yesterday!. 

14 min: Juan Pablo Montoya on the track. Yesterday the Williams didn't appear competitive compared to the Ferraris and McLarens. 

13 min: Takuma Sato goes fastest with a time of 1:34.407. Alex Yoong sets a 1:38.184 

12 min: Mark Webber goes second between the 2 Toyotas with a time of 1:35.567. Irvine and Ralf Schumacher join in and so does Alex Yoong. 

11 min: Mika Salo goes quicker with a time of 1:35.458. Takuma Sato on the track. 

10 min: Allan McNish sets a time of 1:35.640. Almost a second slower than his best time yesterday. 

9 min: Mark Webber joins them as McNish starts his first flyer! 

8 min: Allan McNish and Mika Salo are the first to go out on the track for a long run. 

7 min: No times set yet. 

6 min: Michael goes out on the track as Barrichello pits. 

5 min: Barrichello and Villeneuve appear on the track. Michael is getting ready to go out as well.

4 min: Only the two Ferraris and Jacques Villeneuve have yet to appear. The rest have completed their installation laps.

2 min: Both practice sessions as well as qualifying are starting 45 minutes earlier to cater for the World Cup Quarterfinal match so it doesn't clash with Qualifying.

1 min: Most of the cars are already on the track.

Session underway and a number of cars go out on their installation laps headed by Takuma Sato.

Session starting at 8:15 AM local time. It is mostly cloudy with a temperature of 16 degrees.

Juan Pablo Montoya
Merchandise UK

1:18 Scale BMW Williams FW26 Juan Pablo Montoya 2004 Model Car (Diecast)
Juan Pablo Montoya BMW Williams FW26 2004 by Minichamps
also by Hotwheels