1/18 Ferrari F2004 Michael Schumacher '75 GP Wins' 2004
Ferrari F2004 Michael Schumacher
75 GP Wins 2004


Main San Marino GP Page
NewsOnF1 Home

Fastest lap during the 2nd Saturday practice in 2002: Michael Schumacher - 1:23.046
Fastest lap during the 2nd Saturday practice in 2001: Michael Schumacher - 1:30.737 - Wet

San Marino GP - 2nd Saturday Practice

Session over with Michael Schumacher fastest ahead of David Coulthard and Rubens Barrichello. Nick Heidfeld, Ralf Schumacher and Juan Pablo Montoya make the top 6.
Raikkonen, Button, Villeneuve, Frentzen, Panis, Trulli, Fisichella, Sato, Irvine, Bernoldi, Salo, de la Rosa, Webber, McNish, Massa and Yoong make the rest of the field.

45 min: Nick Heidfeld jumps into 4th with a time of 1:23.695.

44 min: Michael Schumacher improves in 1st place with a time of 1:23.046. That is faster than Pole time from last year.

43 min: Kimi Raikkonen doesn't improve. Michael Schumacher on a fast lap.

42 min: Kimi Raikkonen on a fast lap. 

41 min: Olivier Panis moves into the top 10 in 9th. Michael Schumacher on the track for a final run. 

40 min: Webber moves into 17th with a time of 1:27.022. Alex Yoong is struggling in 22nd and over 6 seconds off the pace! 

39 min: Villeneuve moves into 7th and is the best of the rest at this stage. The Canadian always goes well here. Montoya on track with 6 minutes remaining. 

38 min: Fisichella goes off and he is out of the car. Barrichello takes 3rd with a 1:23.675. 

37 min: Michael Schumacher goes off but recovers. He was improving before losing it. 

36 min: Michael Schumacher goes fastest with a time of 1:23.256. That is just under 0.3 seconds faster than Coulthard. 

35 min: Michael Schumacher is on the track. 

34 min: Villeneuve takes 8th from Frentzen. 

33 min: Top 10: Coulthard, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Montoya, Barrichello, Raikkonen, Heidfeld, Frentzen, Trulli and Fisichella. 

32 min: Jarno Trulli moves into 8th just behind Heidfeld. 

30 min: The midfield looks set to be very close between Renault, Sauber, the 2 Honda runners and possible even Arrows. 

29 min: Nick Heidfeld moves into 7th and the 'best of the rest' position. 

28 min: 1.1 seconds separates the top 6 at this stage and they are occupied by the top 3 teams! 

25 min: It looks as if the McLarens are string here. But we'll know for sure in qualifying. Button moves into 10th just behind his team-mate Trulli. 

24 min: David Coulthard goes fastest with a time of 1:23.550. Ralf Schumacher moves into 3rd with a time of 1:23.944. 

23 min: Top 10: M Schumacher, Montoya, Barrichello, Raikkonen, Coulthard, Villeneuve, Trulli, Frentzen, Fisichella and Heidfeld 

22 min: Michael Schumacher takes 1st on his second flyer with a time of 1:23.938. 

21 min: Barrichello takes 3rd with a time of 1:24.772. Villeneuve takes 6th! 

20 min: Raikkonen takes third with a time of 1:25.338. Barrichello fast! 

20 min: Michael Schumacher moves into second with a time of 1:24.769.  

19 min: Trulli moves into 3rd.  

19 min: Michael Schumacher starts his flyer. 

18 min: Montoya goes fastest with a time of 1:24.078!  

18 min: Montoya is fast! 

17 min: Michael Schumacher on the track too for the first time of dry tyres.  

17 min: Montoya and Massa are back on the track. 

16 min: Nick Heidfeld goes 6th fastest with a time of 1:26.552 

15 min: Frentzen goes second with a time of 1:26.046. Michael Schumacher yet to set a time on dry tyres! 

15 min: Olivier Panis improves to 7th just behind his team-mate. Frentzen fast! 

14 min: Giancarlo Fisichella moves into 4th with a time of 1:26.269. Pedro de la Rosa is in 13th. 

13 min: Top 10: Coulthard, Montoya, Trulli, Raikkonen, Villeneuve, Sato, Button, Barrichello, R Schumacher and Panis. 

12 min: Villeneuve goes 5th and is the fastest Bridgestone runner. 

11 min: No Felipe Massa manages to get going again!

11 min: Felipe Massa goes off and stalls. His session is over and he is in 20th at this stage.

10 min: The times are simply tumbling, Coulthard fastest with a 1:25.438. Montoya retakes second with a 1:26.113 and Trulli in 3rd with a 1:26.243.

9 min: Button takes second away from Montoya only for Raikkonen to take it away from Button!

8 min: Coulthard takes 1st with Montoya moving in second. Both are in the 1:26's

7 min: Jenson Button improves at the top with a 1:27.004. For comparison, pole time last year was a 1:23.054

6 min: Allan McNish moves into 6th with a time of 1:30.057.

5 min: Button goes fastest and Irvine moves into second.

4 min: Takuma Sato goes wide but manages to recover. Button is on a flyer.

3 min: Jarno Trulli goes fastest with a time of 1:29.436. The times should start tumbling now.

1 min: More drivers go out on the track including Button, Irvine and McNish.

Session underway as Jarno Trulli is the first to go out on the track. He only managed 5 laps in the first session.

The weather is expected to remain dry for this session but there is a chance for showers during Qualifying. This session should give us some idea of the performance of the teams. Session starting in 2 minutes

Session starting at 10:15 AM local time. The weather is partly cloudy and the track is dry. The air temperature is 16 degrees and higher than the maximum forecast!.