Page updates automatically every minute

Australian GP - 1st Saturday Practice

Session starts with several cars are out on the track, obviously trying to take advantage of the coolest weather of the day.

2 min: Everybody back in except for Jacques Villeneuve and Jenson Button - Fernando Alonso blows the Minardi engine on the way back in

4 min: Rubens Barrichello is out on the track.

6 min: Eddie Irvine is out on the track.

8 min: Gaston Mazzacane out on the track.

10 min: Again Jos Verstappen is fastest in the early part of the session 1:32.645

12 min: Eddie Irvine puts in a fast lap and Jos Verstappen goes faster again.

15 min: Juan Pablo Montoya is flying - recording top speeds of over 300 km/H.

17 min: Jos Verstappen (1:31.600) still getting the performance out of the Arrows, still fastest in the session so far

18 min: Juan Pablo Montoya flies again - fastest with 1:31.120

19 min: Jos Verstappen in the pits - Nick Heidfeld fastest 

20 min: Michael Schumacher is struggling to get any where near decent times out of the car

21 min: Now Michael Schumacher gets it right with a stunning 1:28.665

23 min: Rubens Barrichello suffers a blown engine as he exits the pitlane and retires.

25 min: Michael Schumacher is back in the pits. The two McLarens are trying in second and third but cant match his time .... yet

26 min: Jenson Button breaks down on his way into the pits

27 min: Jos Verstappen's session ends - he is parked on the grass

29 min: With only 15 minutes remaining most cars are in the pits or parked - Olivier Panis out on the track is trying hard.

32 min: Enrique Bernoldi does 310 km/H! 

34 min: Nick Heidfeld spins damaging his front wing

36 min: Michael Schumacher still fastest, followed by David Coulthard and Mika Hakkinen

37 min: Jacques Villeneuve is 3rd fastest

40 min: Michael Schumacher goes even faster taking almost 1/2 second of his previous best time

42 min: Heinz Harald Frentzen spins and stops  -  yellow flags are out

Session ends with Michael Schumacher fastest ahead of David Coulthard and Mika Hakkinen.